TAIS is pleased to announce the winners from the 13th Annual Animation Showcase: The Showcase Jury Awards – Grand Prize and Best Anijam, and the Audience Awards for Best Short Film and Best Anijam.


ON SATURDAY, JULY 20th, the Toronto Animated Image Society (TAIS) announced the Jury Award recipients for the 13th Annual TAIS Animation Showcase. The programme featured 18 short animated films, all created within the last 12-24 months, and 17 Anijams (10-second long micro animations). The finalists and Anijams were adjudicated by a Guest Jury comprised of Daniel Barrow, Cecilia Corzo and Alisi Telengut. The jury awarded two selections – one Grand Prize and one Best Anijam Prize. The audience also selected the winners for two awards – the Audience Award for Best Short and the Audience Award for Best Anijam




Grand Prize

Bloeistraat 11 by Nienke Deutz

“Bloeistraat 11 presents a masterclass combination of materials and techniques, elaborate cinematography, and an astounding design scheme, to tell a palpably sincere tale of pubescent growth and evolution. This beautifully crafted, virtually silent film immediately and skillfully transported each of us to a turbulent time of meaningful, but rapidly changing, relationship to love, connection and sexuality.” SHOWCASE JURY


Honourable mentions

Tom Has a Plant by Thinh Nguyen

Flut by Malte Stein

Best Anijam

Occupied by Eric Belanger

“Occupied – a stirring and strangely beautiful 10 second expression of pressure and high tension.” SHOWCASE JURY




Audience for Best Short Film

Dream Cream by Noam Sussman

Audience Best Anijam

Occupied by Eric Belanger

Honourable mention

Rubber Band by Andrew Lehman

Huge thanks to the jury for their thoughtful and thorough considerations. And thanks to all the animators, animation enthusiasts and supporters for coming out and voting for your favourites in the show!